Category: Uncategorized

Antarctica: The Coldest Continent on Earth

How many continents does the Earth have? There are seven! In these continents, different nations are found. One continent can have different climate or weather. Do you know which continent is the coldest? You might be frozen when you go there. But amazingly, there are different kinds of living creatures that exist even in that severely cold place. Where is it? It’s Antarctica!

The average temperature in this continent is lower than the Arctic. Since the temperature is too cold, terrestrial animals and marine animals could barely survive the cold climate. For example, the Emperor Penguin can be found in the continent of Antarctica during the breeding season.

Did you know that there’s only one living organism that lives on the land in Antarctica? It’s a midge! In fact, it is the region’s only insect. A marine animal that preys on penguins, fish, squid, and krill is the Leopard Seal. Don’t feel relaxed and easy when you go to that continent. Why? Well, you might be hunted by this dangerous creature!

What about the polar bears? Do they exist in Antarctica? Actually, they are residents of the Arctic continent. A very dangerous fact about this continent is when its ice sheet melts. It would be catastrophic!

The oceans of the Earth will continue to rise up to 200ft. Due to climate change, it is not impossible that the ice sheet will melt. Did you know? 90% of the world’s ice is laid on Antarctica and 70% of the fresh water is in that continent. Aside from these facts, the continent is divided into two segments, the east part and the west.

The Roman Empire and its Invasions

In history, the Roman Empire is very famous. It is because, it was known as the most powerful kingdom in human history! At first, this kingdom enjoyed its power or sovereignty over the other kingdoms on Earth. The Roman Empire was divided into two parts which refers to the Eastern Roman Empire and the Western Roman Empire. These empires consists of different nations as a result of the invasion. The kingdom of Rome was a strong kingdom. However, it was divided more and more.

What are the nations that arose from Rome? Actually, there are ten kingdoms which refers to Anglo-Saxons, Franks, Lombards, Alemanni, Burgondians, Suevi, Visigoths, Heruli, Vandals and Ostrogoths. Eventhough Rome was a powerful kingdom, it was divided in the end. In fact, famous generals including Napoleon and Hitler tried to unite the European countries by war.

Was it a success? Yes. However, it was only for a short period of time. Why does invasions occur? Simply because a nation or kingdom wants to expand their territory and to become known as a powerful kingdom. There are famous Roman Emperors that appeared in history. One of them is Julius Caesar who tried to invade Britain.

The kingdom of Rome practiced its sovereignty for a long period of time trying to invade other nations as many as they want. In fact, Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East were covered by the Roman Empire. In these countries, a lot of evidences of the empire who invaded a vast land can be seen until today.